Skip to content
July 8, 2010 / Suzie

Suzie Ain’t A Nice Girl

I’m in the middle of Nice Girls Don’t Get Rich by Dr. Lois P. Frankel, and I have to say my overall impression is that the book is definitely made for an older generation. Frankel does a good job of addressing issues for to-be divorcées, widows, and other typical older lady stuff, but not topics that particularly pertain to college women, like buying a first car, apartment, or paying off student loans.

The book is founded in psychology— Dr. Frankel received her PHD in psychology— and focuses on internal battles that women in particular must fight in order to get to the higher ground of richdom. Some barriers to entry include:

  • Women are still not normally the breadwinners within the family
  • They can be blind to what the family actually has
  • They grow up hearing “it’s just as easy to marry rich as it is to marry poor,” “it’s better to do good than be rich,” “talking about money is crass,” and “money doesn’t buy you happiness”
  • Women statistically succumb to impulse shopping and going over budget

Frankel provides psychological techniques to overcome these habitual issues. Unfortunately, she doesn’t give a whole lot of concrete advice in how to invest, or how to make money to begin with. This book is written for privileged moms and housewives who dote on their children and men. It’s probably not the best for college students.

As for my personal financial life, I am getting nervous. First off, I cut my last check ever for my tuition payment this past week. Yay for me, but it means that I’m out even more money for the summer. I’m also trying to save $280 a month for both Acorn Stash and my after-graduation account, and I have two phone bills left (about $70 each) until I start making an income again. I’m still trying to make up the $150 I lost on swipebids, and have yet to be successful. Poop.

Luckily, after going a week without spending, I haven’t been as tempted to go shopping on an impulse anymore, so I know that the money in my bank will, hopefully, not change on a whim.

I wish my internship was paid…

Cheers,

~Suz

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. akjayelle / Jul 9 2010 5:34 pm

    What was the name of the book you read targeted to our generation again? I wanted to pick it up, but haven’t had time to flip through all of your posts again to find it!

    • Suzie / Jul 10 2010 5:27 pm

      The best book I’ve read so far is Suzie Orman’s Young, Fabulous, and Broke, which you can find here.

  2. akjayelle / Jul 12 2010 2:09 am

    Thanks!

  3. weight / Sep 27 2010 9:51 pm

    yeah my dad will like this

Leave a Reply

