Skip to content
July 6, 2010 / Suzie

Suzie Celebrates the Birth of a Website

Hello savers! I have some bad news, and some great news. The bad news is that Suzie Savings is going to be moving to a different website within the next few months, and that might mean a loss of traffic (boo). The good, no, fantastic news is that in moving, the site will be far more dynamic, and hopefully turn into something much bigger than it already is. Excited? I am. Oh, the site is Acorn Stash for all who are interested, but I’m certainly not done building it yet! In order to get some regularity on the site, I am going to begin posting regularly on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. There are so many topics to cover hat I’m going to be backlogged for weeks!

I hope everyone had a fantastic 4th of July! I filled it with free activities, like playing soccer in the park, watching some stunning fireworks go off from my parent’s back porch, and devoting some appreciation for America, God Bless. Do I love me some US of A? Yes I do!

Today I went to Old Alexandria to tour the Torpedo Factory. Okay, it’s not really a torpedo factory anymore, but a great location for indie artists to sell to curious tourists and show off their wares. I’ve found that though I went in knowing that I wouldn’t buy anything, I really enjoyed looking at what everyone had to offer. Ahh the benefits of being financially cautious!

After returning from the torpedo factory, I played a 4.5 hour long game of Monopoly. Okay, so in all honesty, I hate this game, and I lost again. I have always found it slow and frustrating, and I have never been able to win. So why did I agree to play in the first place? I’ve been reading Nice Girls Don’t Get Rich: 75 Avoidable Mistakes Women Make with Money by Dr. Lois Frankel, and she claims that women don’t win at Monopoly due to childhood conditioning when it comes to how to deal with, and invest, one’s money. Of course, I attempted to prove her wrong, and my 10-year-old brother creamed me. Ouch.

Though there was (or I perceive there was) a great deal  of luck involved, the loss got me thinking. Maybe women are conditioned to handle their money poorly. More on this topic later this week.

Hope all is well!

– Suz

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. V.A. Luttrell / Jul 6 2010 8:36 pm

    I think part of it is at least the fact that women are conditioned to be less aggressive. Aggression is a necessary component, I think, to managing and — more importantly — making money. You often have to be cut-and-dry, ruthless, heartless, and sometimes conniving. These are values that are abhorred in women in our society, and as such the side effects are that many women fail at the money managing things that men find easy. Women’s behavior as such is discouraged, while it is either not addressed or encouraged in men.

    Lovely.

    BTW, the link to your new address doesn’t work.

  2. Suzie / Jul 7 2010 8:47 pm

    It doesn’t work? No! I’ll fix it tonight.

    And you’ve basically outlined the thesis of Dr. Frankel’s book. Women try to be “fair” and “nice” and “civilized” when men will do whatever it takes to get he job done. She argues that there can be symbiosis to the two approaches.

Leave a Reply

