Skip to content
June 24, 2010 / Suzie

Suzie Saved Today!

Today I got a text message from Verizon. For being a “loyal customer” and whatever other jargon they threw at me, they offered me a phone upgrade now (my New Every Two contract would normally take effect in November) if I bought into the LG ALLY. Now I will be in the market for a Smartphone when my New Every Two comes through, and I have to tell you, an upgrade now was definitely tempting. However:

  • I don’t save any money for upgrading to the LG Ally
  • I am happy to wait until November for my new phone… with probably a better discount!
  • Because the LG Ally requires a $29.99 data plan, so with five months of avoiding these fees (which I will eventually pay), I save a net of $149.94.
  • I promised myself that I wouldn’t spend this week!

Good financial decision? I think so. I made another one today too.

Just because I can’t spend anymore money this week doesn’t mean I can’t invest in myself! Today, I invested in knowledge. I went to my local public library and borrowed two books: The Money Book for the Young, Fabulous, and Broke by Suze Orman and Automatic Wealth for Grads (and Anyone Else Just Starting Out) by Michael Masterson. And since I know that you probably won’t scroll through these two individual’s bios, let me give you a clip of their lives:

I couldn’t find any fabulous YouTube clips from Masterson, but here are some of his personal highlights:

  • He has consulted and run businesses in over 18 industries
  • At the age of 33, Michael created the Oxford Club, the most successful financial advisory ever, with an international network of thousands of investors.
  • At 39, he retired for the first time, wrote fiction (including a film script that was optioned, 12 short stories that were published, and a novel that was not), and bought an art gallery “for the fun of it.”
  • A year later, he joined one of his former competitors in the newsletter business and helped bring that company from $8 million to more than $300 million in 15 years.
  • In the early 1990s, he began working with partners to test out ideas about small-business development. More than a dozen of the businesses they launched became multimillion-dollar ventures. Two saw revenues in excess of $20 million.
  • At the same time, he began investing in real estate, both in luxury home developments and apartment complexes. Within 10 years, he owned multimillion-dollar properties and projects all over the world.
  • When he turned 50, he tried to retire for the second time. Unsuccessful once again, he started EarlytoRise.com, which has grown, in less than seven years, into a highly profitable, $20 million business that serves more than 200,000 customers.

So these folks sound pretty legit. I am going to start on Automatic Wealth for Grads tonight and let you all know how that goes!

Cheers!

– Suz

PS: My name has no affiliation with Ms. Orman!

Leave a Reply

